#dominoforever | Product Ideas Portal

Welcome to the #dominoforever Product Ideas Forum! The place where you can submit product ideas and enhancement request. We encourage you to participate by voting on, commenting on, and creating new ideas. All new ideas will be evaluated by HCL Product Management & Engineering teams, and the next steps will be communicated. While not all submitted ideas will be executed upon, community feedback will play a key role in influencing which ideas are and when they will be implemented.

For more information and upcoming events around #dominoforever, please visit our Destination Domino Page

Traveler: Removing a data manually from Device Security view

After a device is deleted, Traveler continues showing the data on "Device Security" view for up to 30 days.(default)

Administrators can customize the number of the days by notes.ini: NTS_ADMIN_CLEANUP_TIMEOUT.

My customer set it as "NTS_ADMIN_CLEANUP_TIMEOUT=65535" based on their operation policy.

So, the data on "Device Security" view is not disappeared.

However, sometimes they want to remove a specific data manually from the view, for example, when they deleted a test user.

So they want a command which can remove a showing data from the view forcibly regardless of the setting of NTS_ADMIN_CLEANUP_TIMEOUT.

  • Guest
  • Apr 26 2022
  • Future Consideration
  • Attach files
  • Guest commented
    9 Jun 02:52pm

    I need clarity on what the ask is. There is a console command to achieve what is needed (tell traveler security delete). The ask is to provide this option from the Traveler Web Admin UI?

  • Guest commented
    12 May 10:57pm

    Thank you for your comments. However, still the customer want to remove the data forcibly from Device Security view, although they use long NTS_ADMIN_CLEANUP_TIMEOUT setting.

  • Guest commented
    6 May 06:30pm

    This auto cleanup feature controlled by NTS_ADMIN_CLEANUP_TIMEOUT was added long ago (9.0.x) so that the admin would not have to manually delete the security records. Its true that we do not provide a way to turn off this auto cleanup other than what you are doing by using an almost infinite timeout setting.

    The admin still has the ability to do the delete manually by using tell traveler security delete * <username> or tell traveler security delete <device id> <username> for a specific device security record. Documented here: https://help.hcltechsw.com/traveler/12.0.0/Delete_user_from_Domno_Directory.html

  • Admin
    Thomas Hampel commented
    29 Apr 01:54pm

    You have configured your environment to intentionally keep all data around for approx. 180 years.

    If you want test users to not show up there, maybe the better approach is to have a dedicated test environment ?