#dominoforever | Product Ideas Portal

 

Welcome to the #dominoforever Product Ideas Forum! The place where you can submit product ideas and enhancement request. We encourage you to participate by voting on, commenting on, and creating new ideas. All new ideas will be evaluated by HCL Product Management & Engineering teams, and the next steps will be communicated. While not all submitted ideas will be executed upon, community feedback will play a key role in influencing which ideas are and when they will be implemented.

For more information and upcoming events around #dominoforever, please visit our Destination Domino Page

Enable replication formula or option to replicate deletions over x days old

I have a cluster server and would like to replicate everything to that server AND deletions OVER 8 (or 31)days old.  This would allow me to get everything on a week end or month end backup.  Users would not be impacted as all the deletes on their home server would still work.  An added benefit would be that if a user needed a restore ("I deleted all my inbox and emptied trash") the admin could go to the cluster server and not have to go via a tape restore.

  • Guest
  • Nov 9 2018
  • Rejected
  • Attach files
  • Admin
    Thomas Hampel commented
    31 Aug 02:40pm

    A cluster is meant to be in sync, meaning all members to have identical data available. One reason for your idea was the missing backup capabilities of Domino - in V12 we have shipped an improved backup tool (built into Domino) which allows to restore & merge deleted documents back into the mail file.

    Rejecting this idea with regards to statement above.

  • Admin
    Thomas Hampel commented
    17 Nov, 2018 09:14pm

    Keeping deletion stubs in the database will slow down performance, e.g. when replicating. What you could do is to remove the button 'empty trash' from the mail file, and set the lifetime of your trash to be 9999 days. This will still grow your mail file, but at least your users will be able to recover documents without needing your support.

  • Guest commented
    12 Nov, 2018 02:01am

    But if user gets re-directed to that cluster (due to their Notes client thinking that the primary server is not available) then they see emails that they have deleted in the past. Would this cause an issue ?

    Also this would means that you would need to assign a bigger quota to the "backup" cluster server to cater for the previous 31 days of emails, right ?

    Regards

    Tinus Riyanto - Prisma Global Solusi